Well, the time is here!  I’m tasked with searching for a truly awesome, life-changing camping experience for 30 people in June of 2012.  No Pressure 🙂

1.  Start early to get the good locations

The time is nigh to pick one this week.

2.  Pick a general region

  • In Washington state, there are some pretty awesome areas.  We’ve been camping in the Central Cascades for the last 3 years.  The buzz from fellow-campers is that they’d like to go someplace a little different.  This is good since we’re getting older and the sites are starting to run together!

So in a small break from tradition, I’m going to start searching the northern-WA region, somewhere around Mt. Baker

3. Use an atlas

  • Until the internet campground search gets robust enough (we’re working on it!) start offline and use a trusty Recreational Atlas*

My Atlas of choice is the Benchmark Washington Atlas.  Benchmark offers Western-States atlases so far, but I think that’s good.  They’re out of Oregon and know their core strength

The Benchmark WA Atlas - Yellow circle on back cover is the sweet-spot region I'm looking at

*NO Atlas has ALL National Forest, National Park, BLM and Municipal campgrounds  compiled together.  So, this is where a little cross-referencing between the Internet and the Atlas is usually needed.

4.  Maneuvering inside the Atlas

  • Check out the State-View on the Atlas (pictured above) to get a birds-eye-view of your search region.

I’m searching the Northern region of the state so, I turn to those specific pages for some campground names

Like most maps, this atlas represents campgrounds with a cute tent symbol!

5.  Take the names online!

Okay, I have some good campground names.  I’m moving online to see if they can accommodate my group and to search for any images/reviews

Check out Post #2 for the Online part of the search!  (coming tomorrow!)

Please Leave a Reply